On May 18, 2019
19:30 - 21:30
Symphony Hall
34 Court Street
01103, Springfield

Springfield Symphony Orchestra 75th Anniversary Season Finale

Kevin Rhodes, Conductor
Yevgeny Kutik, Violin

Salvatore Macchia – Overtura Rocambolesca
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Concerto for Violin, Op. 35, D major
Antonín Dvořák– Symphony No. 9, Op. 95, E minor “From the New World”

To close this celebratory season, we plan on arriving in the new world with Dvořák’s New World Symphony, a piece played at our orchestra’s very first concert in 1944! Yevgeny Kutik who as The New York Times said, “uses his instrument to tell stories with his dark-hued tone and razor-sharp technique,” will help usher us into this new world when he joins the orchestra to play Tchaikovsky’s Concerto for Violin.