SSO Presents: Beethoven and Tchaikovsky

On March 07, 2020
19:30 - 21:30
Symphony Hall
34 Court Street
01103, Springfield

Springfield Symphony Orchestra Proudly Presents:

Beethoven and Tchaikovsky

Daniel Hege, Guest Conductor
Angelo Xiang Yu, Violin

Augusta Read Thomas Radiant Circles
Beethoven Violin Concerto
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1 “Winter Dreams”

Fresh from his dual wins as the “2019 Lincoln Center Emerging Artist Award” and the “2019 Avery Fisher Career Grants,” violinist Angelo Xiang Yu comes to the SSO as a true rising star! Audiences will delight in celebrating the continuation of the year of Beethoven with his towering Concerto for Violin. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 1, titled “Winter Dreams” features the Russian master with youthful ebullience, and a gift for beautiful melodies and captivating structures, already fully in place. This is another amazing work by Tchaikovsky getting its first hearing in Springfield in recent memory! Also on the program is Augusta Read Thomas’ “Radiant Circles,”  a work in which the poised colorful harmonies and spirals make the music feel as if it is suspended in the air. The SSO welcomes the Music Director of the Wichita and Binghamton symphony orchestras, conductor Daniel Hege, to the podium to lead this concert of incredibly beautiful music.